Bailey’s & White Chocolate Truffles

This post is the second of two about truffles. Like I said in last week’s post, I first started experimenting with truffles for a New Year’s Eve party, where my theme was decadence. Not many things resonate decadence to me as much as truffles. Besides the Dark Chocolate Raspberry Truffles, my other go-to truffle is the Bailey’s and White Chocolate Truffle, another recipe adapted from the Barefoot Contessa.

These truffles are slightly more complicated than the chocolate ones and will require a bit more patience and effort. But, like anything I do, the result is totally worth the effort! The truffles start with a very basic high-quality white chocolate (purchase the best you can find because the quality will make a difference), infused with a good amount of Bailey’s Irish Cream Liqueur, and coated with a thin layer of dark chocolate. The result is a firm chocolate shell that, when cracked open, reveals a rich and creamy white chocolate center with a good punch of Bailey’s.

Click below for the recipe! Have a question? Feel free to ask in the comments below! And thanks for reading! :)

UPDATEThis post was chosen by WordPress to be featured today on their ‘Freshly Pressed’ page, where they highlight the “best” of the day’s blog posts and bloggers. This has led to a huge spike in blog traffic, as well as likes, comments, and new followers! I am humbled and extremely grateful for the attention and recognition. I write this, slightly in shock of how much positive feedback I’m receiving… Thank you all SO MUCH!! And please, keep following the blog. I have a ton of new things coming down the pipeline, including a simple rhubarb crisp, whiskey caramel sauce, and lychee ice cream. Thanks again for reading and sharing in my love of baking! 😀

Bailey’s White Chocolate Truffles

Yield: 25 truffles

Begin by assembling your ingredients.

You are going to need:

  • 1 pound (16 ounces) good-quality white chocolate (like Ghirardelli, Lindt, etc.)
  • 8 ounces bittersweet chocolate or other dark chocolate (around 60% cacao)
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1/4 cup Irish cream liqueur, such as Bailey’s
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

You are also going to need:

  • Double boiler or heat-proof bowl set over simmering water
  • Whisk
  • Cookie sheet lined with wax paper or parchment paper
  • Cookie scoop
  • Chocolate-dipping tool, such as these (particularly the “fork” tool)

First, roughly cut or break up the white chocolate in to a double boiler. Over simmering, not boiling water, melt the chocolate.

Once melted, add the heavy cream, liqueur, and vanilla. Stir to combine.

Remove the chocolate mixture from the heat. Let cool slightly, and then cover and refrigerate overnight.

The next day, remove the chocolate from the refrigerator. In a double boiler over simmering water, melt the bittersweet chocolate. Be careful not to overheat, or else the chocolate will seize and be unusable.

Once the chocolate is melted, remove it from the heat.

Use the cookie scoop to portion out scoops of the white chocolate. Roll in to small balls, and place on a cookie sheet lined with wax paper or parchment paper. (This is the step where you want your chocolate to be pretty cold. The heat from your hands will melt the chocolate, and a solid ball will not form if the chocolate is too warm.)

Place the cookie sheet in the freezer for approximately 15 minutes to make sure the truffles are fully cold.

Remove the truffles from the freezer. Using the chocolate dipping tool, coat the truffles in a layer of the melted bittersweet chocolate. Place the coated truffles on the cookie sheet.

Return the cookie sheet to the freezer for approximately 15 minutes to harden the chocolate coating.

To store, place the truffles in an airtight container. Keep in the refrigerator for up to one week. Remove from the refrigerator and let warm to room temperature before serving.

Enjoy! 😀

66 thoughts on “Bailey’s & White Chocolate Truffles

  1. Ohhhhh my God!!!! The first photo I spotted was already to die for! You Bailey truffles do sound and look a bit complicated though. Think I’ll stick drinking the Bailey. Please keep the recipes coming, though!

    • There’s nothing to be afraid of! 🙂 Just make sure you’re white chocolate mixture is nice and cold before you roll it so you don’t end up with a goopy mess. Good luck!

  2. That looks awesome, very soon I’m going to try this recipe, thanks for sharing! It’s something amazing, it looks delicious!

  3. This is so incredibly sinfully delicious. Thank you for sharing this. I will try it this weekend and let you know how they turn out. I wish I could pick one up right from your page. Keep sharing.

  4. A most mouth-watering recipe! Chocolate and Bailey’s, what a happy combination! Thanks for sharing.

    BTW – I have been making truffles for years without a dipping tool. An ordinary table fork works quite well, and has the added benefit that you can use that extra bit of melted chocolate that lingers between the tines to make a curly-que on top of each truffle after you let it drop onto the waxed paper.

    Regards,
    Kat

    • Yep, you can totally use a fork. I find that the dipping tool works a little easier for me, but that’s mostly personal preference. Thanks for the tip tho! 🙂

    • These look absolutely delicious and I will be trying them!
      Thanks Kathryn, for adding that bit about using a fork, since I certainly don’t have a dipping tool.

  5. My husband will LOVE this. He loves White Russians and Blind Russians to drink. He’s pretty much Jeff Bridges in Big Lebowski. I wonder if you could put some Kahlua in these. What do you think?

    • Definitely! I’d cut the Bailey’s in half and replace the other half with Kahlua. You could probably also use a darker chocolate (bittersweet) to complement the bitterness of the coffee. If you try it, let me know how it turns out! 🙂

  6. Just reading your recipes makes me feel I’m betraying my diet!
    These truffles look fantastic – I’ve made my own before but never have they looked as professional as yours. I’m feeling the urge to get back into the kitchen and try again.
    Congratulations on the FP,
    Wendy

  7. Oh yummy! I have white chocolate dark chocolateand Baileys on the house! Christmas presents that aren’t going to coat me much!

  8. Pingback: Just desserts: Baileys white chocolate, chocolate covered truffles « Culture Jaunt

  9. Pingback: Bailey’s & White Chocolate Truffles (recipe) « Live, Laugh, Love

Leave a Comment

