Strawberry-Rhubarb Compote

Well, I’m back from New York, no worse for the wear. Meeting the boyfriend’s parents went really well, and spending time with his family was great! And now that I’m back home, it’s time to continue Rhubarb Fest 2012! 🙂

After the amazing Rhubarb Crisp from last weekend, I had about a pound of a half of leftover rhubarb to use. (I always over-buy because if I don’t, it’s always gone by the next time I go to the grocery store or farmer’s market!) Since I was going out of town, I chopped up the extra rhubarb and threw it in the freezer so that it wouldn’t go bad while I was away. And then my brain started thinking about what to do with leftover rhubarb when I got home…

When I was a kid, my mom always packed my lunches. And I remember the early Spring or late Summer lunches that occasionally held a little container of rhubarb goo. That was always the favorite part of my lunch. No cookies or candies or fruit roll-ups for me. I wanted the precious rhubarb goo that only manifested during a short season each year. I think I was the only kid at the lunch table that would gladly slurp up the fruity and tart rhubarb compote. The other kids always looked at me strangely when I pulled out a tupperware of dark red stewed rhubarb, wondering what the heck I was eating. It certainly wasn’t the only reason the other kids thought I was weird, but it sure didn’t help much! 😉

As an adult, I’ve stewed up rhubarb a few times, whenever I have leftovers or no idea what else to make or just want some childhood nostalgia. However, while I always remember my mom making hers with only rhubarb, I decided to sweeten my recipe up with a pretty hefty amount of strawberries, reducing the sugar significantly to compensate. The compote is great on toast and biscuits, amazing over ice cream, or simply satisfying by the spoonful! And now I’ll have to head to the grocery store to buy more rhubarb before the season abruptly ends because I’m sure the mason jar in my fridge won’t last long… Especially after Friday when you see what I use the compote for! Check back to find out! 😀

Click below for the recipe! Have a question? Feel free to ask in the comments below! And thanks for reading! 🙂

Strawberry-Rhubarb Compote

Yield: about 3 cups

Begin by assembling your ingredients.

You are going to need:

  • 4 cups fresh rhubarb, cut in to 1/2-inch pieces (about 1 1/2 pounds)
  • 3 cups fresh strawberries, sliced (about 1 pint)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice (about 1/2 lemon)

In a large saucepan, combine the strawberries, rhubarb, and sugar. Cover and cook over low heat until the fruits begin to release their juices.

Add the lemon juice and salt, and cook, uncovered, for about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the compote reaches a jam-like consistency.

Remove from the heat, and let cool to room temperature.

Store in an air-tight container in the refrigerator for up to one month.

Enjoy! 😀

2 thoughts on “Strawberry-Rhubarb Compote

  1. Pingback: Strawberry-Rhubarb Ice Cream « Pie With Sparkles!

Leave a Comment

