DC State Fair

Today, I am be competing in the DC State Fair baking competitions! There are two baking contests: pie and cupcakes. In the pie contest, there are prizes for best overall, best crust, most creative, and best apple pie. In the cupcake contest, there are prizes for best overall, most creative, and best vegetable-based cupcake. Entrants are allowed to submit up to two entries for east contest.

I’ve been working on my entries all week, and I’m pretty psyched to compete! I’d been brainstorming for a few months about what to enter, and I wish I could submit more than 2!! Finally, I narrowed it down to two entries for each competition. If you’re in DC, come check out the Fair! 🙂

Cupcake #1 – Brown Sugar Cake with Whiskey Caramel Buttercream

Cupcake #2 – Spiced Zucchini Cake with Lemon Cream Cheese Icing

Pie #1 – Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie

Pie #2 – Fig and Grape Pie with Cognac and Orange

Wish me luck!! I’ll post about my results on Monday! 🙂

3 thoughts on “DC State Fair

  1. Pingback: DC State Fair Follow-Up | Pie With Sparkles

Leave a Comment

