Wedding Cake Madness

Good afternoon followers and readers! Sorry I’ve been MIA and not posting lately… Last weekend, I was out of town on vacation, and then spent all of the following week in wedding cake mode. But I’m back and will be posting recipes later this week! For now, though, some pictures of the wedding cake. 🙂

Two good friends of mine got married in a very beautiful ceremony this past weekend and wonderfully asked if I would make their wedding cake. I was super-excited to participate in their beautiful celebration, so I jumped at the chance to make their cake.

The cake was a 5-layer monster, which served 200 people (the 6″ top layer to be saved for their first anniversary). The wedding color was copper, with accents of peacock feathers. I had the bride and groom save some ideas on Pintrest and pick out the cake flavors they wanted, but then they let me run with the creativity a little bit. 😀

The flavors were really interesting combinations, especially for a wedding, but the cake turned out amazing! And the best part was when wedding guests asked me what flavor the cake was, and I was able to respond with “Oh honey, they are 4 different flavors to choose from!” The cake layers were composed of:

  • Red velvet cake with cream cheese icing
  • Lemon cake filled with lemon curd and vanilla buttercream icing
  • Pumpkin spice cake filled with salted caramel and salted caramel buttercream
  • Chocolate cake filled with salted caramel and coconut/almond buttercream

The cake is covered is homemade marshmallow fondant (omg, yum!) and sponge-painted with copper airbrush paint from Americolor. I made the decorations from edible peacock feathers (printed on potato starch), sugar pearls, and a bit of buttercream icing.

Hopefully I’ll be able to get some night-time shots of the cake because it looked even more beautiful lit by candlelight! I also made over 150 chocolate and vanilla cake pops for the bride and groom to give out as wedding favors, so hopefully I can update with some photos of those as well. 🙂

New recipes coming out later this week, I promise! Thanks for reading! 😀

Update #1 (cause hopefully more to come!):

More photos! 🙂

Cutting the cake! Photo courtesy of my amazingly talented friend and photographer Doug Sanford. (www.dougsanford.com)

 

One of the many chocolate cake pops! Photo from my friend Justin Cameron. 🙂

 

7 thoughts on “Wedding Cake Madness

  1. Your cake looks delicious to eat. Can I ask you to make the same cake for me? I and my fiance have decided to have a peacock-themed array of wedding ceremony supplies and this cake would be perfect!:)

  2. Pingback: Caramel Recipes | KolorBlind Mag

  3. Pingback: Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes with Salted Caramel Buttercream | Pie With Sparkles

Leave a Comment

