Maple-Pumpkin Pillow Cookies

A few weeks ago, I was talking with a friend about ideas for the blog and what I wanted to make coming up. She mentioned that I have not been giving cookies enough attention here at Pie with Sparkles, and she’s right! In the [almost] 9 months of blogging — wow, has it really been 9 months already?! — I’ve only published one cookie-related post… So I think it’s time that cookies get a feature! And getting on a cookie-kick is perfect since the Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap is coming up very soon!

This recipe is the last in my pumpkin series: the Maple-Pumpkin Pillow Cookie. The first thing people have asked when I talked about the Maple-Pumpkin Pillow Cookies was, “What’s a pillow cookie?” Well, I decided to call them “pillow cookies” because I think that describes their texture perfectly. They are a light and cake-like cookie, like a little tasty pillow.

The pumpkin cookies are sweetened with both sugar and maple syrup, as a nod to being Canadian and creating this recipe while visiting my grandparents this fall. They are then topped with a maple glaze to amp up the maple flavor, which goes beautifully with the spiced pumpkin cookie. And they taste AMAZING! 😀

This is also the first thing I’ve baked in my new-to-me kitchen! It’s been a bit of an adjustment to get used to a new kitchen layout and oven, but I’m loving the huge increase in space! I used to blog everything from a kitchen that was only about 3 feet wide in each direction with one counter-top. But now, I actually have space to move around, and I don’t need to pull chairs in to the hallway to have a place to put things down!

The kitchen was the first thing to be organized and unpacked, and I’ve been playing around in it ever since I moved in! However, I did misplace my cookie scoop during the move, so I made the first batch of cookies with an ice cream scoop. With a few extra minutes of baking time, they still came out perfect, but they were a little BIG for the average person… The boyfriend and I have been splitting them for dessert, but feel free to make some HUGE cookies if that’s your style! 😀 (Just add about 4 or 5 minutes to the baking time.)

Click below for the recipe! Have a question? Feel free to ask in the comments below! And thanks for reading!  🙂

Maple-Pumpkin Pillow Cookies

Yield: 48 cookies

For the cookies, you are going to need:

  • 1/2 (1 stick) cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup, grade B
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon cloves
  • 1/2 cup milk

For the glaze, you are going to need:

  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup, grade B
  • 1 cup powdered sugar

You are also going to need:

  • Large bowl
  • Cookie scoop
  • Cookie sheets
  • Parchment paper
  • Small bowl
  • Wire whisk
  • Wax paper

First, preheat your oven to 375° F.

Next, stir together the dry ingredients, and set aside.

In a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, cream together the butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Add the egg, and mix to incorporate.

Next, add the maple syrup and pumpkin. Stir in half of the flour mixture, then the milk, and then the remaining flour mixture.

Drop the cookies about two inches apart , by the rounded teaspoon-full, on to a cookie-sheet lined with parchment paper.

Bake in your preheated oven for approximately 12 minutes, or until the cookies and lightly browned and firm to the touch.

Let the cookies cool on the cookie sheet for approximately 5 minutes, and then remove to a wire rack to cool completely.

While cookies are cooling, whisk together the melted butter and maple syrup in a small bowl. Slowly whisk in the powdered sugar until the glaze is smooth.

Dip each cookie in to the glaze, and let dry on a sheet of wax paper. Repeat with the remaining cookies. Let the glaze harden, and then store in a sealed container for up to one week.

Enjoy! 😀

Leave a Comment

