Apple Cider Cake

I’m at a loss for words today. I think my brain is still a little fuzzy from the madness of Thanksgiving and the four-day weekend. Or maybe I ate enough turkey that I’m still in a turkey coma! With the 27 pounds of turkey I cooked, I think the latter may be the case. It doesn’t help that the holidays are quickly approaching, and my focus is quickly waning…

I don’t know about anyone else, but I always go a little overboard at Thanksgiving and for holidays and at dinner parties and sometimes on Tuesdays. After getting not one but TWO turkeys ready in their respective oven and slow cooker, I looked around my kitchen and decided I hadn’t done enough dessert prep yet! I spent most of Wednesday night making mushroom and sage stuffing, a cheesecake (yep, I’m an addict!), and fresh cranberry sauce. And my morning prep before the turkeys involved wrapping things in bacon and prepping a batch of Pumpkin Pie Ice Cream. But I needed [at least] one more dessert…

In comes the Apple Cider Cake! I had a gallon of apple cider in my fridge and some apples that were supposed to go in to pie, so I decided to bake an apple cider bundt cake. The cake is sweet and full of apple’y goodness from both the cider and the chopped apples, but the caramel really is the best part! The apple cider caramel is made by reducing cider until the sugar begins to caramelize, and then adding a small amount of butter and salt. And it’s like an apple cider explosion in your mouth!

I hope everyone had a relaxing holiday and/or weekend! I can’t believe that we’re already nearing the end of November… Time to start prepping for the holidays and New Year’s Eve! 😀

Click below for the Apple Cider Cake recipe! Have a question? Feel free to ask in the comments below! And thanks for reading! 🙂

Apple Cider Cake

Yield: about 12-16 servings

For the apple cider caramel, you are going to need:

  • 1 quart apple cider
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

For the cake, you are going to need:

  • 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, at room temperature
  • 3 eggs, at room temperature
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1 1/2 cups apple cider
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 macintosh apples, peeled and chopped

You are also going to need:

  • Medium saucepan
  • Wire whisk
  • Bundt Pan
  • Baking spray, such as PAM

First, prepare the caramel.

In a medium saucepan over medium-high heat, bring the apple cider to a boil. Reduce the heat slightly, and simmer the cider until it reduces to about a cup. This will take about 30 minutes. Do not stir the cider after this point because it may crystallize if over-agitated.

Continue to reduce the cider until it begins to get thick and caramelize, about another 30 minutes. When the caramel is thick and could coat a spoon, remove the pot from the heat.

Stir in the butter and salt. Let cool until the cake is ready.

For the cake, preheat your oven to 350° F.

Sift the dry ingredients on to a sheet of wax paper or into a medium sized bowl.  Set aside.

In a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, cream together the butter and brown sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, and the vanilla, and then mix to incorporate.

Add the flour mixture and the cider, alternating between each. Start and end with the flour mixture. Stir the batter until just combined, and then fold in the chopped apples.

Pour the batter into a greased and floured bundt pan, and bake for 45 minutes, or until a tooth pick inserted comes out clean.

Cool in the pan on a wire rack for 10 minutes. Then invert the cake onto the wire rack, and cool completely.

Pour the caramel sauce over the cake to serve.

Enjoy! 😀

5 thoughts on “Apple Cider Cake

    • Yeah, I thought about doing that too, but it would be quite dangerous in my house… So I just made another cake after the first got devoured during Thanksgiving! 😀

  1. Pingback: Cookie-Swap Roundup! | Pie With Sparkles

Leave a Comment

