80s Cartoon Cake

I’ve been waiting a few weeks for this post because I’ve been super-busy in between work, moving, and organizing my new apartment. But the apartment is finally coming together, so I’m getting a chance to catch up on some posts!

A few weeks ago, one of my best friends, Tiffany, turned 30, so the group of us threw her a birthday bash! The party was entirely 80s themed, with an emphasis on 80s cartoons. We decorated a friend’s house with vintage 80s toys from thrift stores, set up an 80s prom photo booth, and had an 80s music dance party all night long.

To go with the theme of the party, I made her birthday cake, and it focused on some of Tiffany’s favorite childhood cartoons: the Gummi Bears, Strawberry Shortcake, and Care Bears. All of the figures I used were vintage 80s that I got off of ebay specially for decorating the cake!

I decorated the cake to have each layer be distinct by the theme:

  • Gummi Bears – Chocolate cake, chocolate buttercream icing, Rice Krispie tree topper
  • Strawberry Shortcake – Vanilla cake, strawberry filling, vanilla buttercream icing, covered with marshmallow fondant
  • Care Bears – Almond cake, coconut almond buttercream filling and icing, covered with marshmallow fondant

The cake turned out amazing and was really tasty! It really was a hit! Happy 30th birthday, Tiffany!! 😀

Leave a Comment

