Spiderman Cake

A few weeks ago, a friend of mine asked if I could make a cake for her son’s birthday party. There were two requests: dulce de leche filling and Spiderman! After a bit of discussion, we settled on the exact cake flavors (vanilla seemed to fit best to not overpower the dulce de leche) and on a design for the cake. She told me that he absolutely loves the Spiderman webs, so I focused the design of the cake on Spiderman’s signature colors (red and blue) and the spider webs.

Below is a front-view of the cake. Both layers are vanilla cake, filled with dulce de leche and frosted with buttercream icing. The spiders and webs are hand-drawn using piping gel tinted with black dye.

And a bit better view of the webbing on top of the cake. I think my favorite part of this cake are the little spiders on the bottom layer. Normally, I hate spiders because they give me the heebee-jeebees, but I think these spiders are just adorable! πŸ™‚

I had a lot of fun making this cake! And while I didn’t get to see the look on his face when he first caught sight of the cake, I’m sure the birthday boy was happy with his Spiderman cake!

Thanks for reading!

~ Emily πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Spiderman Cake

  1. Amazing blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a
    little lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform
    like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options
    out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any recommendations?

    Thanks a lot!

Leave a Comment

