Happy New Year/Chocolate-Espresso Cake

Happy New Year! I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday! Sorry to all my follower that I’ve been so far off the radar… Over the last two weeks, I’ve fought off a massive cold/sinus infection thing, traveled to Chicago to celebrate Christmas with my mom, and celebrated New Year’s Eve on the couch in a Benadryl-induced coma after a pretty horrendous food allergy. It’s been a rough few weeks…

But, 2013 is a new year, which brings the possibility of SO MANY new adventures, experiences, and lessons. And now that I’ve recovered from the last few weeks of sick and crazy, I’m ready to bounce in to the new year with enthusiasm!

For my first post in 2013, I’d like to share a photo of one of my latest cake decorating adventures. I constructed the 3-tier cake shown below for a friend’s birthday party back in December. The theme of the party had everything to do with decadence, and what’s more decadent than chocolate??

262748_10102010522199328_1174916842_n

My friend has been carefully nudging me for the last 2 years that her favorite combination is coffee and chocolate, so I whipped up this Chocolate-Espresso Cake for her birthday! The cake was 3 tiers (enough to serve about 70 party guests) and consisted of chocolate cake, espresso buttercream (with 3 shots of espresso!), and dark chocolate-espresso ganache. The resulting combination of chocolate and espresso was absolutely divine!

And I’ll definitely be modifying this recipe to make it more accessible, so look out for a Chocolate-Espresso post coming soon! 🙂

10 thoughts on “Happy New Year/Chocolate-Espresso Cake

  1. Pingback: Hello all of my sweeties! Here is the latest chocolate news from the web: « All Things Chocolate

  2. Pingback: Fig & Grape Tarts | Pie With Sparkles

Leave a Comment

