Homemade Marshmallows

Homemade Marshmallows

love marshmallows! I loved the chewy, gooey texture of marshmallow.  I love every sweet and airy bite. Whether they’re covered in chocolate, toasted in s’mores, melted in Rice Krispie treats, or just straight from the bag, marshmallows are one of my favorites!

As a kid, I would sneak one of two marshmallows out of the pantry until the bag was nearly empty or until my mom caught on. As an adult, I stock a few bags of marshmallows in my pantry for the days I want to use them to bake, but I hide them so I don’t just eat them plain. 

Now, in my quest to try baking new things, I decided to tackle marshmallows. I did some searching, and after reading dozens of recipes and reviews, I settled on this recipe from Alton Brown. The proportions are pretty standard when compared to other recipes I looked at, and I trust Alton Brown whenever I’m looking for recipe tips or ideas!

The resulting marshmallows are AMAZING! Store-bought marshmallows don’t even compare to the taste and texture of homemade marshmallows. Once you try this recipe, you’ll never want to buy processed marshmallows again! (Don’t say I didn’t warn you! 😛 )

Click below for the recipe! Have a question? Feel free to ask in the comments below! And thanks for reading! 🙂

Homemade Marshmallows

(recipe from Alton Brown)

Yield: about 9 dozen 1″ marshmallows

You are going to need:

Marshmallow ingredients

  • 3 envelopes unflavored gelatin
  • 1 cup ice cold water, divided
  • 12 ounces granulated sugar (approximately 1 1/2 cups)
  • 1 cup light corn syrup
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons cornstarch

You are also going to need:

  • Medium saucepan
  • Candy thermometer
  • 9×13” baking pan
  • Nonstick spray
  • Small bowl
  • Rubber spatula
  • Cutting board
  • Pizza cutter or sharp knife

First, pour 1/2 cup of the water in to the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a whisk attachment. Spring the gelatin on top of the water, and let it sit to bloom.

In a medium saucepan, stir together the remaining 1/2 cup of water with the granulated sugar, corn syrup, and salt. Cover and heat over medium-high heat for 3-4 minutes.

Uncover the saucepan, and clip a candy thermometer to the side of the pan. Cook the sugar mixture until it reaches 240° F, about 7-8 minutes. Once the mixture reaches 240° F, immediately remove it from the heat.

Turn you mixer on low speed, whisking the water and gelatin mixture. With the mixer running, slowly pour the hot sugar syrup down the side of the bowl into the gelatin mixture.

Cook sugar and whip marshmallows

Once all the sugar syrup has been added, increase your mixer speed to high. Whip the marshmallow mixture until it becomes very thick and the temperature reduces to lukewarm, about 12-15 minutes. Add the vanilla, and whip for approximately 1 additional minute.

While the marshmallows are whipping, prepare your baking pan. Combine the 1/4-cup of powdered sugar and cornstarch in a small bowl. Lightly spray your baking pan with nonstick cooking spray. Add the sugar and cornstarch mixture and coat the bottom and sides of your pan. Save the remaining mixture for later use.

When the marshmallows are ready, pour the mixture into your prepared pan. Lightly spray your spatula with cooking spray, and use the spatula to evenly spread the marshmallow mixture in your pan.

Dust the top of the marshmallows with the remaining sugar and cornstarch mixture. Allow the marshmallows to sit uncovered for at least 4 hours and up to overnight.

Pour into pan to set

After the marshmallows have set, turn them on to a cutting board. In a small bowl mix together the remaining 2 tablespoons of powdered sugar and cornstarch.

With your pizza wheel or sharp knife, cut the marshmallows into 1-inch squares. Toss the cut marshmallows in the sugar and cornstarch mixture. Shake off any loose sugar and cornstarch.

Cut marshmallows

Store the marshmallows in an airtight container for up to 3 weeks.

Enjoy! 😀

20 thoughts on “Homemade Marshmallows

    • It depends on how big/small you cut the marshmallows. If you shoot for around 1″ squares, you’ll get about 9 dozen. I know that sounds like a lot, but when you look at them in a container, it’s not as much as you’d think. It’s comparable to about 2 bags of store-bought marshmallows! 🙂

  1. I love marshmallows, but tend to steer away from the mass-manufactured store bought ones. Am SO going to try this out!

    And Alton Brown rocks 🙂

  2. I cannot wait to try this! I had homemade marshmallows once before, and swore that I would never eat store-bought again. (Although I still buy them for Rice Krispies treats.) I am so happy to have your recipe with your wonderful step by step directions and photos.

  3. Pingback: Marshmallows | familyrecipebooks

  4. They are so good! My whole family loved them. Thank you!! I just made 3 batches to give away to neighbors and teachers with hot chocolate. I put each batch in a 9×9 pan to make nice thick cubes. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Guinness Marshmallows | Pie With Sparkles

  6. How much gelatin is in each packet? I don’t eat pork gelatin- which is what’s in those packets, but I have a big container of beef gelatin and was hoping to try this recipe and see how it turns out!:) I just need to know how much gelatin is in each packet! Thanks 😊

Leave a Comment

