Sour Cream Pancakes

Happy Pancake Tuesday!! I know some of you may be scratching your heads wondering what Pancake Tuesday is… Well, Pancake Tuesday (aka Shrove Tuesday) is known to most people in the States as Fat Tuesday or Mardi Gras. Fat Tuesday refers to the practice of eating richer, fatty foods on the last night before Lent. In the UK, Ireland, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand, it is tradition to eat pancakes on Fat Tuesday!

As a kid, I remember my mom occasionally making me and my sister pancakes for dinners on Pancake Tuesday, and it always felt like a very special dinner. In college, I threw Pancake Tuesday dinners for my housemates and friends. And, as an adult, I still use Pancake Tuesday as an excuse to have breakfast for dinner. (Or an excuse to bring my electric griddle in to the office and make pancakes for breakfast, as my coworkers enjoyed today!) 🙂

Today, I share my favorite recipe for pancakes! I stumbled on the recipe one weekend morning when I’d promised the boyfriend pancakes for breakfast. The one small problem was that I didn’t have any baking powder! I’d already sent the boyfriend to the store to pick up toilet paper, but he forgot his cell phone on the kitchen table… So it was up to me to make it work!

I found a recipe online from Epicurious that ended up working out perfectly. It calls for baking soda instead of powder, and I was able to use some of the leftover sour cream I had in my fridge! I’ve modified the recipe slightly, after making more pancakes than I can count! The recipe can easily be doubled (or tripled, or quadrupled) and makes great leftovers. My favorite tradition is to save one pancake for dessert later in the day, topped with Nutella and strawberries! Mmmmm 😀

Click below for the recipe! Have a question? Feel free to ask in the comments below! And thanks for reading! 🙂

Sour Cream Pancakes

Recipe adapted from Epicurious

Yield: 6 4-inch pancakes, 2-3 servings

You are going to need:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 3/4 cup whole milk
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 1 large egg

You are also going to need:

  • Butter
  • Large bowl
  • Wire whisk
  • Non-stick skillet or griddle
  • Spatula
  • Syrup

First, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl. Whisk in the remaining ingredients, until just combined. Melt 2 tablespoons of butter, and stir in to the batter. Be careful not to over mix the pancake batter!

Preheat your non-stick skillet over low heat. Using an electric griddle, I set the temperature at 300* F.

Once your skillet or griddle is preheated, pour 1/4-cup of batter per pancake and cook until bubbles appear on surface and undersides are golden brown. Flip and cook the other side, about 1 minute. If using a skillet, work in batches.

Serve warm with maple syrup. Leftover pancakes can be stored in the refrigerator in a sealed container for up to 3 days. Reheat leftover pancakes in a 300* F oven or toaster oven.

Enjoy! 😀

2 thoughts on “Sour Cream Pancakes

Leave a Comment

