I’m back!

For my friends and regular followers, I’m sure you’ve noticed that I haven’t posted anything new in a while! A few weeks ago, I experienced a pretty decent personal setback that left me reconsidering my love of baking and blogging, as well as my personal and professional goals going forward. And I fell in to a little downward spiral of depression and self-doubt, two things I generally struggle with…

So I decided to take a little time off and gather my thoughts. Unfortunately, running the blog started to feel like work, and it got really stressful instead of fun. And I have enough stress in my life between other personal and professional commitments!

Well, I’m happy to announce that I’m back and (hopefully) better than ever! I have new short- and long-term goals and have gained a most of my confidence back thanks to my wonderful friends and family, including the boyfriend. (Super thanks to him for putting up with my crazies!)

To make a long story short, I’ll likely be publishing fewer recipes, supplementing them with other things from my crazy life!ย I’ll have a new recipe up later this week, and I have a lot of really great things planned for this summer! But for now, a few pics of the last event/baking competition that I entered…

Untitled2

The competition was for the National Capital Area Cake Show (NCACS), and the theme was Candy! I went a lot outside of the box, as I tend to do, and entered a Root Beer Barrel cupcake and a Licorice Allsorts cupcake. The Root Beer Barrel cupcakes are a root beer cake topped with a root beer-scented meringue and root beer caramel. The Licorice Allsorts cupcakes were a black licorice cake topped with coconut-almond buttercream, shredded coconut, and a little pie of black licorice. Both cupcakes came out amazing, tho I didn’t take home any blue ribbons this time. Hey, you can’t win them all, eh?!

I’m going to hold on to the Licorice Allsorts recipe because I intend to enter it in another recipe contest, but I’ll probably be modifying the Root Beer Barrel cupcake in to a cake to post on the blog later this Spring! So watch out for that soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

As always, thanks for reading! Happy baking! ๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on “I’m back!

  1. โค u, and not just because i'm going to be dreaming about that licorice cupcake later ๐Ÿ™‚ hugs, and muah!

    • Hehe, but I didn’t know you liked licorice!! I’ll prolly be making more of these this summer cause I loved them, so I’ll be sure to bring a few to the next event ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Pingback: Root Beer Cake | Pie With Sparkles

Leave a Comment

