Banana Blondies

20130507-124033.jpg

As most of my friends know, I am a banana hoarder. I buy bananas every week at the grocery store but frequently forget to eat them. This “problem” has been somewhat solved since the boyfriend and I moved in together because he’ll eat the yellow bananas that I won’t touch. (Like my grandfather, I need some green on my bananas!) But even he has limits…

I hate throwing away perfectly good food, so I keep bananas around long past their prime. I hide them above the fridge until the brown spots take over and stash them in the refrigerator or freezer until I’m ready to turn them in to, usually, Banana Bread. But, this time, I wanted to do something different!

20130507-124028.jpg

So I tweaked a normal Blondie recipe to include a hearty amount of banana! I replaced the normal chocolate chips with white chocolate and added some toasted macadamia nuts. And the result is absolutely magical!

I’ve made this recipe twice now, and my Banana Blondies have been devoured both times. Even the boyfriend loves them, and he doesn’t even like white chocolate!

Click below for the recipe! Have a question? Feel free to ask in the comments. And thanks for reading! 🙂

Banana Blondies

Yield: 24 servings

Ingredients:

3 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature
3/4 cup (about 3-4) mashed ripe bananas
1 1/2 cup light brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg, at room temperature
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 cups white chocolate chips
1 cup roasted and chopped macadamia nuts

Tools:

9″ x 13″ pan
Aluminum foil
Butter or non-stick spray
Large bowl
Rubber spatula or wooden spoon
Sharp knife

Steps:

1. Preheat your oven to 325* F. Line a 9″ x 13″ baking pan with aluminum foil, and butter the aluminum foil. Set aside.

2. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

3. In a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, beat the butter and sugar on medium speed until light and fluffy. Add the mashed banana, and mix to incorporate. Add the eggs, one at a time, and mix in the vanilla.

4. Reduce the mixer speed to low, and add the dry ingredients. With a rubber spatula or wooden spoon, stir in chocolate chips and macadamia nuts.

20130507-124006.jpg

5. Transfer the blondies to the greased baking pan, and smooth the top using back of a spatula or wooden spoon.

6. Bake in preheated oven for 40 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Transfer the pan to a rack to cool for about 15 minutes.

20130507-124016.jpg

7. Lift the aluminum foil to remove the blondies from the baking pan. Peel away the aluminum foil, and place the blondies on to a wire rack to cool completely.

20130507-124022.jpg

8. Use a sharp knife to cut the blondies into 24 bars. Store in a sealed container in between pieces of wax paper. The blondies should keep at room temperature for about 3 days or can be frozen for up to 2 months.

Enjoy! 😀

4 thoughts on “Banana Blondies

  1. I used to have to make a large batch of banana bread every other week, because I would buy too many bananas. I didn’t really consider it a bad thing, but I do wish I had had this recipe! I could have used a little variety.

  2. Pingback: Banana-Blueberry Muffins | Pie With Sparkles

Leave a Comment

