Cherry-Bourbon Jam

This past weekend was extremely productive! I made three batches of homemade jam, canned my sweet pickles, made two batches of simple syrup, baked up tons of mini pizzas, and made a giant coffee cake to bring in to work. Whew… By Monday evening, I was exhausted! But after cleaning up my work room and the kitchen, I was finally able to sit down, relax, and catch up on a few episodes of Once Upon A Time, the newest show that the boyfriend and I are binge-watching!

If you follow me on Twitter, I posted a picture of all the jams and pickles and syrups from this weekend’s cooking and baking and canning extravaganza! I bought a boiling-water canner a few weeks ago, and this was my first opportunity to use it. So I picked up some beautiful cherries from the Farmer’s Market (along with rhubarb, beets, bread, and the cutest baby zucchini!) and decided to make jam.

The boyfriend and I tend to keep no less than 7 different types of jam and jelly in fridge at any given time. We put it on toast, in PBJs, and pair it with cheese. But buying the organic jams or the mostly-fruit (no corn syrup please!) spreads at $5 each adds up quickly. So, in my effort to make everything homemade and eat fresh and/or locally produced food, I decided to add jam to my repertoire!

And this Cherry-Bourbon jam is phenomenal! The cherries and the bourbon (I used Maker’s Mark) pair beautifully together, and it’s not cloying sweet like store-bought jam tends to be. The recipe makes about 3 8-ounce jars, which can be kept refrigerated for about 3 weeks or canned to be kept for up to a year in the pantry. Not that it will last that long anyways… ๐Ÿ˜‰ And check back tomorrow to find out what I’m baking with the Cherry-Bourbon jam!

Click below for the recipe! Have a question? Feel free to ask in the comments. And thanks for reading! ๐Ÿ™‚

Cherry-Bourbon Jam

Yield: about 3 8-ounce jars of jam

Ingredients:

3 pounds cherries
1 tablespoon lime juice
1 box (1.75 oz.) pectin, such as Sure-Jell
2 tablespoons bourbon, such as Maker’s Mark
2 cups sugar (increase to 4 cups if using sour cherries)

Tools:

Paring knife or cherry pitter
Food processor
6- or 8-quart stock pot
Wooden spoon
Food-safe jars, such as Ball jars
Boiling-water canner,ย optional

Steps:

1. If using, prepare your boiling water canner. Wash and sterilize your jars.

2. Remove the pits and stems from the cherries. Place them in a food processor, and finely chop the fruit. (Do not puree your cherries! You want small bits of fruit in the jam.)

3. Measure out 4 cups of chopped cherries in to your stock pot. Stir in the bourbon and the lime juice.

4. Stir the box of pectin in to the fruit. Bring the mixture to a full, rolling boil over high heat, stirring constantly. (A full, rolling boil is where the fruit mixture is boiling so violently that stirring does not stop the bubbling.)

6. Quickly stir in the sugar, and return the mixture to a full, rolling boil. Boil for 1 minute, stirring constantly to distribute the heat.

7. Remove your pot from the heat, and skim off any foam that has accumulated.

8. Ladle the jam in to your sterilized jars, leaving 1/8-inch headroom if canning.

9. If canning, follow the directions of your jars and canner, and process the jam for 10-minutes. After processing, let the jars cool and then check the seals. If the jars are not properly sealed, refrigerate immediately. Let the sealed jars cool at room temperature for 24 hours. The refrigerated jars will keep up to 3 weeks, while the sealed jars can be stored in a cool, dry, dark place for up to 1 year. (Once opened, the jams will keep for up to 3 weeks in the refrigerator.)

10. If not canning the jars, let them cool to room temperature, and then refrigerate. The jam will keep in the refrigerator for up to 3 weeks.

Enjoy! ๐Ÿ˜€

3 thoughts on “Cherry-Bourbon Jam

  1. Beautiful – and I love the addition of Maker’s Mark! We grow our own grapes & I finally tackled some jam last year with them. It takes a ton of grapes but it was oh, so worth it. What’s better than homemade jam?

    • Thanks!! And I’m totally jealous of your grapes! The only thing I have room for is a balcony herb garden. But I’m already scheming for my eventual garden when I buy a house ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Pizza | Pie With Sparkles

Leave a Comment

