I’m back!! (For reals this time)

Wow, it’s be forever since I’ve last posted. Fans and followers, I’m sorry I haven’t been blogging in months. Life keeps getting in the way of my productivity, in both good and bad ways. This post focuses mostly on the “bad”, but I’ll update on the “good” soon! 🙂

For those of you who are friends and family, you’re most likely aware of the health issues I’ve been having. But for my other followers, a quick update. My health has been deteriorating over the last year or so, with the worst being the last 6 months. I became tired all the time (that kind of tired you feel after not sleeping for 48 hours) and didn’t feel rested no matter how much sleep I got. I tried altering my diet, changing my sleep schedule and routines, and cutting out activities to rest. But none of it helped, and I knew something was really wrong when I didn’t have the energy to bake after work.

After visiting a neurologist and going through sleep tests, I’ve been diagnosed with Idiopathic Hypersomnia. This essentially means that something is happening in my brain, which is causing me to want to sleep for 14-18 hours/day. Needless to say, that doesn’t leave much time for baking and blogging while also trying to maintain employment at my full-time job. 😉 So I’m now on a path of trying out treatments to see what may work to help me function like a normal person again. (Unfortunately, the “idiopathic” part of my diagnosis means that the doctors don’t know what’s causing my extreme sleepiness and fatigue, so there’s not a direct treatment path to follow…)

It’s been about 10 days since I started this first round of treatment options, and, in comparison to how I felt a month ago, I feel GREAT!! I’ve regained productivity and focus, and I even have a new recipe to post later this week. (I’m also working on a new layout and possibly a new website to come!) I’m still not 100% of who I used to be, and I may never be again. But I have hope for the first time in months, and I’m finally moving in the right direction.

So thank you to everyone that checked in on the blog while I was on hiatus! It’s nice to log back on and see that my page-views haven’t tanked in my absence. And a massive thank you to my friends, family, and especially the boyfriend for being there over the last few months. I wouldn’t have gotten treatment without your encouragement and support. It might be a bumpy road ahead, but I’m buckled in and ready to go! 🙂

Till next time,

Emily 🙂

6 thoughts on “I’m back!! (For reals this time)

Leave a Comment

