Ladybug Cake

Over the summer, when I was on my health-related hiatus from blogging, I still tried to fit in as much baking as my body could handle. As I mentioned a few weeks ago, I knew something was really wrong with me when I didn’t have the energy to bake! Thankfully, I was able to make a few cakes for friends, including this adorableย ladybug cake.

20131203-115146.jpg

The cake was made for a friend’s daughter’s birthday. The parameters were pretty simple: she loves ladybugs and wanted a Boston Cream Pie. I had a lot of fun making this “cake”, especially because I’ve never made a Boston Cream Pie! As it turns out, it’s not a pie at all! (I had really only ever had Boston Cream donuts, hence my unfortunate ignorance.)

20131203-115140.jpg

The ladybug is simply a Boston Cream Pie, which is two layers of sponge cake filled with vanilla pastry cream and topped with chocolate ganache. To color the ladybug, I darkened the chocolate ganache using food dye (the candy-kind) and use white chocolate dyed red for the wings. The eyes are mini-marshmallows.

20131203-115135.jpg

Unfortunately, I did not get a picture of the inside of the cake, which by the way, was quite tasty because I sneaked a bit of the cutting scraps from leveling the cake tops. While most of my friends are accustomed to receiving cakes with a small slice removed, I felt like a bit of a jerk to do that to a 4-year-old. ๐Ÿ˜›

As always, thanks for reading! Happy baking! ๐Ÿ™‚

7 thoughts on “Ladybug Cake

Leave a Comment

