Homemade Eggnog

20131210-120952.jpg

Last year, during the holiday season, I had this really long list of things I wanted to make and bake. Unfortunately, as always, life got in the way of completing my entire list. It was pretty ridiculous list, so I’m not surprised that I didn’t finish all of it… 😉

20131210-120946.jpg

While I did get to cross off several things, most of the rest got pushed off in to the mysterious “future”. Well, this year, I get to cross off Homemade Eggnog!

20131210-120914.jpg

I’ve never really been a huge fan of eggnog. I don’t actively dislike it; I’m just kind of indifferent. But buying the packed stuff from the store always kind of creeped me out, in the same way that buying grocery store cake is usually on my “NO!” list. I like to avoid chemicals and preservatives when I can, so I figured that I might as well make some eggnog myself.

20131210-120920.jpg

After doing a little research, I settled on following an Alton Brown recipe. (He’s never steered me wrong!) Of course, I changed a few things to suit my tastes. Also, I decided to go with the cooked method because I knew the nog would spend a few days in the fridge while the boyfriend and I slowly work our way through it.

20131210-120928.jpg

If you’re going to go with the raw method, be sure to use only fresh, properly refrigerated, clean eggs and avoid contact between the eggs and their shells. (Pasteurized eggs are of course best to avoid salmonella.)

20131210-120939.jpg

Click below for the recipe. If you have a question, feel to ask in the comment section below. And check back tomorrow to see what I decided to make with some nog! 🙂

Download the recipe!

3 thoughts on “Homemade Eggnog

  1. Can’t go wrong with Alton Brown! (I have one of his fudge recipes somewhere…) I love eggnog, but the stuff in the store never tastes quite right. Am certainly going to give this a try. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Pingback: Eggnog Caramels | Pie With Sparkles

  3. Pingback: Homemade Eggnog | blah blah birds

Leave a Comment

