Rum Balls

20131217-215333.jpg

Ever since I was a kid, holidays centered around two things: family time and food! Both my grandmothers are great cooks and bakers, so holidays were always full of amazing food. Christmas Eve was spent at my mom’s parents’ house, where we would have our big family dinner and open presents at midnight, as is tradition in my Norwegian family.

(It was also tradition for the kids to play or color while the adults played Monopoly or cards. I even remember one Christmas where a particularly heated game of Monopoly kept the parents shooing us away until almost 2am!)

20131217-215309.jpg

Christmas morning, as the early-riser in the house, I would wake up the rest of the family with great excitement. After breakfast and presents, we’d head over to my dad’s parents’ house. More food and tons of baked goods would always greet us at my grandmother’s house. And one of my favorites, which was really only made during the holidays, was my grandmother’s rum balls!

20131217-215317.jpg

For anyone not familiar with rum balls, they are a dense, sweet unbaked cookie. Flavored with chocolate and rum, they are similar to a truffle. Traditional rum balls are usually coated in chocolate sprinkles, powdered sugar, or cocoa powder. But my grandmother modified the recipe slightly and decided to coat the balls in sanding sugar, giving the rum balls a sweet crunchy coating!

20131217-215322.jpg

Assembling the rum ball dough is pretty simple. The time-consuming part is rolling and coating all the balls, which is why I suppose my grandmother usually recruited my sister and me to help. The best part about helping though, besides getting to pinch a few rum balls, was licking the chocolate off of our hands! 😉

20131217-215328.jpg

This year, I tracked down the recipe from my grandmother and made up a batch of rum balls to share with my friends. And they were devoured so quickly that I made a second batch last night to keep for myself and the boyfriend. Now I just have to resist grabbing one each time I open the fridge… 😛

Click below for the recipe. If you have a question, feel free to ask in the comments. And thanks for reading! Enjoy! 🙂

Download the recipe!

3 thoughts on “Rum Balls

Leave a Comment

