Happy New Year!!

Happy New Year everyone! Like I mentioned yesterday, I almost can’t believe that it’s already 2014! This year seems to have passed by faster than usual. Wasn’t it just August??

I thought I’d take today to share some holiday gifts I received this year. First off, I’d like to thank Kablee at Kablee’s Kitchen! I commented on her post about the Food Blogger Cookie Swap because I was super-sad about missing the deadline this year. (It may actually be my one 2013 regret…)

20140101-114102.jpg

Kablee sent me cookies when I participated in the Cookie Swap last year, and her cookies looked great again this year! Well, when I got back to work last week, there was a package of cookies waiting for me from Kablee! Her Butterbeer Cookies totally made my day, and her thoughtfulness made my week! Thanks Kablee! 🙂

20140101-114109.jpg

This year, I also got a lot of really great cookbooks that I’m excited to share. (FYI, this is not an endorsement, and I’m not getting paid for posting this. I just like sharing!) First off, I got a new canning book to add to my library! I’m really excited about this book because the author structured the book by season. So I can start planning my Spring canning adventures!

20140101-114116.jpg

My mom also got me a really awesome new cupcake cookbook! As a librarian, cupcakes fall into the section she manages and purchases, so she always has an eye out for new cookbooks. This book was not even on my radar, which is what makes it even more amazing! The authors organize the cookbooks as a series of love letters, including one to bacon and one to the Golden Girls. I’m super-excited to try out some of these recipes in the New Year!

20140101-114123.jpg

The boyfriend and I picked up a bacon cookbook as a gift to ourselves. We’re not Paleo, but we’re really into eating local and sustainable foods and using the whole animal. With a new high-end butcher shop in the neighborhood, we’re really excited to try out some new recipes!

20140101-114128.jpg

The biggest and most-pink of all the cookbooks is “Patisserie: Mastering the Fundamentals of French Pastry”. I’m really happy to add this to my library, especially because of the step-by-step instructions. I looked through the cookbook over the weekend, and I think I’m going to tackle macaroons first!

20140101-114136.jpg

In addition to cookbooks, I also got some great new cooking tools, including different sized cookie scoops. I also got a new Thermapen, which wasn’t even on my Christmas list! I was bragging to the boyfriend on Christmas Eve about just how awesome the Thermapen is, so I was almost giddy when I opened one up from my dad and stepmom! Now I need to figure out what to make first! One of the other really cute cooking gifts from this year was this set of nesting measuring cups from the boyfriend’s mom! These are really adorable and will probably live on my counter year-round!

20140101-114142.jpg

What new cookbooks and cooking tools did you add to your kitchen? What are you most excited to make in the New Year? Please share in the comments below! Thanks for reading, and happy new year! May 2014 be the best year yet! 😀

Leave a Comment

