Spiced Apple Butter

IMG_0751

Don’t hate, but I have only recently discovered the wonders of apple butter. As a kid, my experience with apple butter was limited to seeing my mom order it alongside a basket of biscuits at the local Cracker Barrel. (Yes, I lived far enough out in the exurbs of Chicago that we had our very own Cracker Barrel…) In my ignorance, I never quite understood apple butter and instead reached for the packaged grape jelly.

IMG_0747

But my curiosity over apple butter was piqued after seeing the boyfriend order it on all of our Cracker Barrel road-trip pit stops. I quickly learned to remind him to request the side of apple butter when ordering to avoid the inevitable sadface that occurred when he forgot.

IMG_0748

Once I got in to canning last summer, I knew that I needed to cook up some apple butter. But first, I tried out peach butter from some of the 50 pounds of peaches I ordered from the Farmer’s Market. And wow, that was amazing! So next up was apple butter.

IMG_0749

This is the second batch of apple butter I’ve canned, as I had a few over-ripe apples in the fridge and was down to only 1 jar of apple butter left from the first batch. It’s incredibly easy to cook and comes together quite nicely, as long as you have the patience. So make sure you set aside a full day in the kitchen to tend to your apple butter as it will require some careful tending.

IMG_0750

But, trust me, all of that time and effort will be worth it when you can pull out a fresh jar of homemade apple butter! Spread it on hot toast or biscuits, or stir it in to yoghurt (as the boyfriend found out is amazing as well!).

Click below for the recipe. If you have a question, feel free to ask in the comments. And thanks for reading! Enjoy! 🙂

Download the recipe!

Leave a Comment

