Port Wine Panna Cotta with Blood Orange Gelée

20140210-234157.jpg

Sometimes I come up with a recipe so good that I’m not sure if I want to share it. Since I may want to parlay all of this into an eventual cookbook, bakery, or restaurant, I’m frequently torn about publishing recipes I’ve developed. This is one of those times…

20140210-234103.jpg

Because this is what the boyfriend refers to as “the best dessert I’ve ever made”…

20140210-234139.jpg

This year, the boyfriend and I decided to celebrate Valentine’s Day with a really nice dinner out. I made reservations almost a month in advance at a new restaurant near our house that been getting a lot of hype and good reviews. With that, and our planned mini-vacation to Baltimore next weekend, we agreed on no gifts.

20140210-234044.jpg

But, since cake is my gift and I need to make something for the blog anyways, I wanted to come up with a fun dessert to surprise him! So I decided to try out my first panna cotta, one of the boyfriend’s favorite desserts.

20140210-234050.jpg

Panna cotta is really the perfect dessert. It’s inexpensive, can show off seasonal fruits, and holds very well in the refrigerator.  But what’s really great about this panna cotta is that it’s relatively easy to make, not too sweet (a big plus for him since I have a massive sweet tooth!), and comes out beautiful! It also used up the blood oranges sitting on top of my fridge. 😉

20140210-234133.jpg

I decided to make the panna cotta in a wine goblet, tilted while it set (see the picture above!), strictly for presentation purposes. If you have small tumblers, you can use those or custard cups or champagne flutes. Presentation is all up to you!

Click below for the recipe. If you have a question, feel free to ask in the comments. And thanks for reading! Enjoy! 🙂

Download the recipe!

2 thoughts on “Port Wine Panna Cotta with Blood Orange Gelée

  1. Pingback: Homemade Gummies | Pie With Sparkles

Leave a Comment

